LitFest in the Dena Saturday and Sunday 12:30-6pm May 4-5 2004

For all details and 2023 submission guidelines, click the link below:

The Omega Sci-Fi Awards are proud to accept entries for The Roswell Award and the New Suns Climate Fiction Award international short science fiction story competitions from writers age 17 and older.

For The Roswell Award, we are seeking stories on diverse topics that explore and connect themes such as social justice, feminism, identity, inequity, environmental sustainability, ethics, and technology.

We’re delighted to announce a new prize, the New Suns Climate Fiction Award, for original short science fiction that reimagines new ways of living and depicts humanity exploring and overcoming today’s climate and biodiversity crises.

For further inquiries email:




2022 Omega Sci Fi Awards
Virtual Celebrity Readings & Honors

May 21, 11:00am PST

Free; Registration Required

Registration Link:

In an epic performance honoring planet Earth’s emerging sci-fi writers, celebrity guests deliver dramatic original short story readings!

The Roswell Award and Feminist Futures Award: Celebrity Readings & Honors recognizes outstanding new works of science fiction by emerging writers from across the United States and worldwide, including the winner of this year’s feminist themed sci-fi story. This thrilling show will feature dramatic readings by celebrity guests (to be announced) from some of today’s hottest sci-fi and fantasy shows and movies. Following the readings, the authors will be honored for their writing.

Presented in partnership with B5 Events


Science fiction opens doors for writers of all backgrounds to create unique stories exploring how we relate to one another, to our world, and to our future.

The Omega Sci-Fi Awards seek to empower emerging writers to contribute their unique voices and diverse perspectives to the art of science fiction story writing while tapping into the power of science fiction to examine the greatest challenges and moral dilemmas humanity faces.


2021 ROSWELL AWARD: FREE Registration is now open for the Celebrity Readings for The Roswell Award and Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award!

Register in advance:

Just enter your email and you will receive your link and password. Please check your inbox for the confirmation, which will be sent to the email you register with! If you do not see it, check your spam folders or promotion folder.







THE 2021 ROSWELL AWARD Finalist Judges
Steven Barnes, Science Fiction Author
Alyssa Bell, LA Natural History Museum Paleontologist
Wesley Chu, Science Fiction Author
S.B. Divya, Escape Pod Host, Author & Engineer
Rebecca Moesta, Science Fiction Author & Publisher
Philippe Mora, Screenwriter & Director
Larry Niven, Science Fiction Author






The 6th Annual Roswell Award short science fiction writing competition is open for submissions on
September 15, 2020.


Sci-Fest LA and Light Bringer Project* are pleased to announce that their short science fiction writing competition, THE ROSWELL AWARD for adult writers worldwide, will be
open for submissions on SEPTEMBER 15, 2020.


Heading into its 6th year, the competition offers cash prizes for science fiction writing on any theme. In addition, special prizes will be awarded for feminist themed sci-fi. 

Deadline for *The Roswell Award submissions: December 15, 2020


The competition winners and honorable mentions will be announced and a culminating event held at LitFest Pasadena in May 2021.


Stories must be original, 1,500 words or less, not published or posted, and not fan fiction. 


* The Roswell Award was founded by Sci-Fest LA and presented in partnership with
the Pasadena based arts and education
 nonprofit, Light Bringer Project.



2019 The Roswell Award
for original short science fiction by writers from around the world

Readings & Awards Presentations at LitFest Pasadena on Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 4:30-6:30pm Pasadena Playhouse, 39 S El Molino Ave

Actress Allison Scagliotti (STITCHERS) Reads at The Roswell Award

The Roswell Award for short science fiction by adults is an international competition presented by Light Bringer Project and Sci-Fest L.A. It inspires and nurture the talent of up and coming science fiction writers. Over five years, submissions have come from dozens of countries including Malawi, Ethiopia, Singapore, Brazil, Germany, Sweden, Canada, Australia, India, Pakistan, England, America, Kazakhstan, and others. At LitFest Pasadena on May 18, 2019 at 4:30pm, celebrity guests will read the finalists’ and Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award winner’s stories, and the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners will be announced.

Guest Speakers

The Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award
presented by Artemis Journal and the Hollywood Chapter of the National Organization for Women (Hollywood NOW)

This special award, presented during The Roswell Award Readings & Awards at LitFest Pasadena, recognizes a science fiction story that embraces feminist themes and has a strong female protagonist. The winning story will be published both by Artemis Journal and Hollywood NOW, and will be read aloud on stage by a celebrity guest.

Congratulations to The Roswell Award Finalists and Honorable Mentions and The Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award Winner 2019!

Roswell Award Finalist Judges

Tananarive Due, Novelist
Rose Eveleth
Brian Evenson
Ben Loory, Novelist
Sherri Smith, Novelist

Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award Judges

Cherise Yanit-Nadal
Kate Sanchez
Karen Eyres
John Erickson
Zoe Nicholson
Heather Lyons
Elizabeth Wong
Cassandra Lane

Roswell Award First Round Judges

Rachel Branwen
Shawn Thrasher
Jameson Rohrer
Carrie LaFerle Gergely
Vanessa McGrady
Michael Paul Gonzalez
Meredith McGowan
Julie Ganis
Katie Rose McEneely
Jack Hovakimian
Llyr Heller
Xach Fromson
Michaela Daly
Laura McMahon
Heather Dever
Erik Jackiw
Michael Blaha
Martin Gantman
Charmetria Marshall
Costa Singer
Daryl Maxwell
Dori Meyer
Jennifer Woodson
Jade Alburo
Sigrid Hudson
Lillian Diaz-Przybyl
Steven Calcote
Sarah Lejeune
Julia Glassman

Organizing Board

Lisa Beebe
Michael Blaha
Jennifer Brody
Thomas Coston
Griffin Davis
David Dean Bottrell
Rosalind Helfand
Patricia Hurley
CB Lee
Celeste Martinez
Joaquin Peres
Corey Roskin
Lauren Salerno
Jeff Sweat

Competitions Intern: Samuel O’Brien