LitFest in the Dena Saturday and Sunday 12:30-6pm May 4-5 2004


The Tomorrow Prize & The Green Feather Award
2023 Submissions are open!

Short story deadline:
Monday, January 9, 2023, 11:59 PST

For competition guidelines, terms and conditions,
go to

The Omega Sci-Fi Awards invite Los Angeles County high school students to submit their short science fiction stories to The Tomorrow Prize from September 19, 2022 through January 9, 2023. The Tomorrow Prize partner, the Nature Nexus Institute, will also present The Green Feather Award, which highlights an environmentally focused sci-fi story.

  • Selected finalists will be chosen to have their stories read in their honor by celebrity guests during a special performance.
  • First, Second, and Third place Tomorrow Prize winners will receive $250, $150, and $100 USD cash prizes.
  • The First place Tomorrow Prize winner’s story will be published in L.A. Parent Magazine.
  • The Green Feather Award is an additional special prize category for an environmentally focused sci-fi story. The winner will receive $250.00 & online publication by the Nature Nexus Institute.

Short story online submission form – click HERE


  • The Roddenberry Foundation
  • vFxNova
  • Light Bringer Project
  • LitFest Pasadena
  • L.A. Parent Magazine
  • Nature Nexus Institute

Science fiction opens doors for writers of all backgrounds to create unique stories exploring how we relate to one another, to our world, and to our future.

The Omega Sci-Fi Awards seek to empower emerging writers to contribute their unique voices and diverse perspectives to the art of science fiction story writing while tapping into the power of science fiction to examine the greatest challenges and moral dilemmas humanity faces.



2021 Omega Sci Fi Awards

2021: FREE Registration is now open for the Celebrity Readings for The Tomorrow Prize and Green Feather Award!


Tomorrow Prize Zoom Registration:


Just enter your email and you will receive your link and password. Please check your inbox for the confirmation, which will be sent to the email you register with! If you do not see it, check your spam folders or promotion folder.






THE 2021 TOMORROW PRIZE Finalist Judges
Jennifer Brody, Science Fiction & Fantasy Author
Bobak Ferdowsi, JPL Engineer
Jess Phoenix, Volcanologist & Author
Charles Yu, Science Fiction Author




The 6th Annual Tomorrow Prize short science fiction writingcompetition is open for submissions on
September 15, 2020.

Sci-Fest LA and Light Bringer Project* are pleased to announce that the short science fiction writing competition,

for Los Angeles County
high school students will be
open for submissions onSEPTEMBER 15, 2020.

Heading into its 6th year, the competition offers cash prizes for science fiction writing on any theme. In addition, special prizes will be awarded in environmental conservation.

Deadline for the competition submissions: * FEBRUARY 1, 2021

The competition winners and honorable mentions will be announced and a culminating event held at LitFest Pasadena in May 2021.

Stories must be original, 1,500 words or less, not published or posted, and not fan fiction.

* The Tomorrow Prize was founded by Sci-Fest LA and presented in partnership with
the Pasadena based arts and education
nonprofit,Light Bringer Project.



The Tomorrow Prize

for original short science fiction by Los Angeles County high school students

Readings & Awards Presentation at LitFest Pasadena on Sunday, May 19, 2019 * 5:30pm * Pasadena Playhouse, 39 S El Molino Ave.

Actress Jasika Nicole (FRINGE) Reads at The Tomorrow Prize

Now in its fifth year, The Tomorrow Prize for short science fiction by Los Angeles County high school students is presented by Light Bringer Project and Sci-Fest L.A. This competition inspires students to explore their present through speculating about their future and to excel in the art of storytelling. It is open to all 9th to 12th grade students attending schools in L.A. County. Students from over 15 schools submitted stories to The Tomorrow Prize 2019. At LitFest Pasadena on May 19, 2019 at 5:30pm, celebrity guests will read the five finalists’ stories, after which the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners will be announced.

Guest Speakers

Guest Finalist

The Green Feather Award
presented by Los Angeles Audubon

This special award, presented during The Tomorrow Prize Readings & Awards, recognizes an outstanding science fiction short story by a teen author that centers on overcoming today’s environmental challenges. The winning story will highlight the importance of ecology and biodiversity. The winning story will be read aloud on stage by a celebrity guest.

Tomorrow Prize Finalist Judges

Jennifer Driscoll, Children’s Literature Council of Southern California Board President
Bobak Ferdowsi, JPL Scientist
Tamara Krinsky, Tomorrow’s World Today Co-host
Nicholas Meyer, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan Director
Mike Mongo, The Astronaut Instruction Manual Author
Jasika Nicole, Writer & Actor
Lilliam Rivera, Novelist

The Green Feather Award Judges

Jane Beseda
Alice Hsieh
Arely Mendia
Michael Lawson

Tomorrow Prize First Round Judges

Ally Cisneros
Lillian Diaz-Przybyl
Heather Dever
Detrice Jones
Benin Lemus
Annette Homewood
Dana Middleton
Margaret Deng
Rebecca Gonzales
Lena Garcia
Andrew Nguyen
Jessica Brown-Clark
Carrie LaFerle Gergley

Organizing Board

Lisa Beebe
Michael Blaha
Jennifer Brody
Thomas Coston
Griffin Davis
David Dean Bottrell
Rosalind Helfand
Patricia Hurley
CB Lee
Celeste Martinez
Joaquin Peres
Corey Roskin
Lauren Salerno
Jeff Sweat

Competitions Intern: Samuel O’Brien